My avatar. Arnaught A pride flag.

Name Origin

Jul 16, 2023 | Tags: personal


About My Name

Why Arnaught?

My main username of choice for the longest time was Rayquaza01. I made this username when I was 13. It’s a combination of Rayquaza, the Pokémon on the box of Pokémon Emerald Version (my first Pokémon game), and 01, the year I was born. You can tell I made it when I was 13 because… well…

A banner, displaying my username (Rayquaza01), my friend codes for the DS Pokémon games, and the phrase 'Soup is Souptastic... and do not forget it!'

This was my signature on the Bulbagarden Forums. This was displayed on the bottom of every post I made. It definitely looks… interesting. Make sure to add me on Soul Silver and White 2, games that definitely still have online service!

I really like the username Rayquaza01, so why change it? Well, a couple reasons. For starters, everyone always mispronounces it (It should be ray-kwah-zah oh one). Another reason is that it doesn’t feel very good as a name for a person. It does have numbers in it, after all. But, one of the biggest reasons is that other people also want to use this username. One notable example is YouTube user @mothernaturerocks, who has had the display name Rayquaza01 way before me. Another example is Minecraft, where someone else already took the handle Rayquaza01, forcing me to use the disgusting handle Rayquaza_01. shudders

Once Mojang added the ability to change your handle in Minecraft, I ended up switching my handle to R01. This is just Rayquaza01, but shortened. I usually pronounce this name as either are oh one or are naught one. Eventually, I came to really like the pronunciation are naught one, because it rolls of the toungue easily, and it sounds kinda like a name for a person (like astronaut). Eventually, I started creating accounts with the username R01, but typically stylized as Arnaught, dropping the one.

Now Arnaught tends to be my go to handle for accounts. It’s my handle on most things now, except a few places where you can’t change your username. (Like Minecraft, where someone else took the handle Arnaught.) I use Arnaught and Rayquaza01 interchangably (since they are actually the same name).

Sidenote - The Soup Master

Sometimes I also use the username TheSoupMaster. I chose this as an alternative to Rayquaza01 on some services where Rayquaza01 was already taken (like Tumblr and Pokémon TCG Online). I can’t really explain the soup thing, sorry.